Dear shoe,

Dear shoe that does not fit me anymore,

you know I only wear you because you are the only one I have

and you are not worried about me abandoning you no matter how horrible you treat me sometimes,

I have countless blisters because you pinch me too hard,

the numerous fungal infections I have in my feet are because of you,

yet I do not know how to stop wearing you.

I know that there are many shoes in the market that will give me the comfort and security that I need,

but my mind, body and spirit refuse to let you go.

My friends say I look stunning in you and wish that they had you for themselves, they say I should never throw you away even if you’re getting a little unbearable to wear,

I bet they are oblivious of the hell you put me through.

It is only the wearer of the shoe who knows where it pinches the most so maybe everyone is going through the same problem, I convince myself, and refrain from sharing my troubles with anyone else.

So I wear you daily and risk losing my feet to fungi,

I wear you daily and bear with the pain all day rather than throw you away and look for something more comfortable.

I put a strong front daily to mask the immense pain you put me through.

My feet have known no other shoe and though we have outgrown each other,

I stay with you to impress my friends, to savor the feeling of home.

You have taught me that I have no say in the pain, that mine is to take and take

till my feet fall off and I have a scar to show for my pain.

 

IMG_13652815806194

 

Published by Jayne Amol

Strong. Brave. Confident

Leave a comment